Search the historical PS5 archive →
Open Sony’s official update instructions →
On PS5: Settings → System → System Software → System Software Update and Settings. N02
If the PS5 update will not install
In Downloads/Uploads, open the failed update’s View Error Info and choose Try Again. For repeated failures, Sony documents a FAT32/exFAT USB route using PS5/UPDATE/PS5UPDATE.PUP and Safe Mode → Update System Software → Update from USB Storage Device. Use Sony’s update download and check uppercase filenames. F02
Reset PS5 (Reinstall System Software) deletes console data. The separate reinstallation file is not interchangeable with the normal update file, despite using the same filename. Read Sony’s recovery instructions and review backups before a destructive step. Keep power connected during installation. F02
PS5 retained version history
35 entries from Sony’s checked rolling list. This expands the original 23-entry research selection; it is not a lifetime archive.
| Version | Documented change | Release date | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 26.05-13.60.00 | Messages/usability | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 26.04-13.42.00 | Performance/stability | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 26.04-13.40.00 | Performance/stability | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 26.03-13.20.00 | Emoji message reactions | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 26.02-13.00.00 | PSSR; Unicode 17; Welcome hub | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 26.01-12.70.00 | Performance/stability | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 26.01-12.60.00 | Friends activities; read receipts | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 25.08-12.40.00 | Performance/stability | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 25.07-12.20.00 | Serial information; Edge stability | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 25.06-12.02.00 | Security fixes | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 25.06-12.00.00 | Power Saver; four-device pairing | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 25.05-11.60.00 | Performance/stability | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 25.04-11.40.00 | Messages/usability | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 25.03-11.20.00 | Audio Focus; classic themes | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 25.02-11.00.00 | Activities; Unicode 16; family defaults | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 25.01-10.60.00 | Performance/stability | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 24.08-10.40.00 | Large-data console transfer | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 24.07-10.20.00 | Activity progress status | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 24.06-10.01.00 | Performance/stability | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 24.06-10.00.00 | Welcome hub; 3D audio; charging | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 24.05-09.60.00 | Session links; Game Help voice shortcut. | Not established | F01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 24.04-09.40.00 | Direct Discord voice chat | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 24.03-09.20.00 | Community Game Help | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 24.02-09.00.00 | Controller audio; power-light brightness; Share Screen interactions. | Not established | F01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 24.01-08.60.00 | Recent parties; PULSE audio settings. | Not established | F01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 23.02-08.40.00 | Security and maintenance. | Not established | F01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 23.02-08.20.02 | Performance maintenance. | Not established | F01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 23.02-08.20.00 | Music navigation; VR2 broadcast privacy. | Not established | F01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 23.02-08.00.00 | Atmos; 8TB M.2; assist controller | Not established | N01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 23.01-07.61.00 | Performance maintenance. | Not established | F01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 23.01-07.60.00 | Performance maintenance. | Not established | F01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 23.01-07.40.00 | Stability and interface maintenance. | Not established | F01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 23.01-07.20.00 | Maintenance; DualSense Edge stability. | Not established | F01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 23.01-07.01.01 | Game Library display correction. | Not established | F01Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 23.01-07.01.00 | Discord disconnection fix. | Not established | F01Checked 2026-09-11 |
Features worth finding in Settings
PS5 Pro image enhancement. The PSSR option in 26.02-13.00.00 is Pro-only and game-dependent. The documented switch is Settings → Screen and Video → Video Output → Enhance PSSR Image Quality. It is not a graphics upgrade for the original PS5. N01
Audio Focus. Sony’s April 23, 2025 announcement scheduled rollout from April 24. It provides four headphone presets aimed at different sounds, including voices and quieter effects. Find it at Settings → Sound → Volume → Audio Focus. The documented route is USB or analog headphones, not HDMI output through a television, receiver or soundbar. This is a configurable option, not a promise that every player will hear every cue better. N20
Pair one controller with several devices. The announcement first discussed a beta in July 2025; its September update scheduled wider availability for September 17. Updated DualSense and DualSense Edge controllers can keep four device pairings, reducing repeated pairing when moving between supported devices. That does not make a console game license available on PC or make an incompatible game support a controller feature. N21 N39
Power Saver. The same September rollout introduced a per-game option for supported PS5 titles. It can reduce performance to reduce energy use. It should not be described as an update that makes every game faster, nor should an article invent a watts-saved figure without a documented test. N21
Welcome hub, personalized headphone audio and charging. The September 2024 announcement combined features with different rollout and hardware conditions. Welcome hub began with a limited audience before expanding geographically. Adaptive charging concerned supported newer console/controller configurations, not every USB port on every PS5. Use the current model-specific instructions before assuming that a missing setting is a fault. N18
Update normally; do not reinstall by mistake
An update and a reinstallation are different procedures. Reinstallation removes console data and is not the routine answer to “a new version is available.” Sony provides separate download choices even though the USB filename used by both procedures is PS5UPDATE.PUP. Read the download heading, not just the filename. N02
For Sony’s manual USB update, the drive is formatted as FAT32 or exFAT and the file belongs in PS5/UPDATE/. In Safe Mode, choose the update procedure and its USB option. Reinstallation/reset is a different choice. When troubleshooting, follow the official instructions for the actual error; do not jump straight to an erasing procedure. N02
Why a feature may not appear yet
A shared console version does not imply that every account has every newly announced feature immediately. A rollout can be staged; a setting can require the right hardware, game, account permissions or region. Portal also has its own software and cloud eligibility, so a PS5 console update is not interchangeable with a Portal update. N18 N25
What this page does not establish
No console, controller, frame rate, latency or exploit was tested for this article. A general stability note is not evidence of a particular percentage improvement. A security-fix note without disclosed detail is not a basis for naming a vulnerability. Retained historical notes describe the scope of that update; current official procedures remain the place for device-specific recovery.
Next: use Sony’s official update instructions for the installation, or read the controller and Portal references when the change concerns those devices. A material-change feed should report useful features and consequential corrections, not create a new article for every stability sentence.
Separately dated feature rollouts
An announcement date does not establish the release date of an undated version. Portal is a separate device/service.
| Feature | Announced | Rollout | Conditions | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| VRR | 2022-04-25 | 2022-04-25 week | Compatible HDMI 2.1 VRR TV/monitor; software behavior varies | N19Checked 2026-09-11 |
| Welcome hub / personalized audio / charging | 2024-09-12 | 2024-09-12 | Welcome hub geographic stages; adaptive charging supported newer models/accessories | N18Checked 2026-09-11 |
| Audio Focus / classic themes | 2025-04-23 | 2025-04-24 | USB/analog headphones; no HDMI TV/AV/soundbar Audio Focus | N20Checked 2026-09-11 |
| Four-device pairing / Power Saver | 2025-07-23 | 2025-09-17 | July beta article updated September 16; PS5 and supported games; DualSense/Edge pairing | N21Checked 2026-09-11 |
| Portal owned-digital-PS5 cloud streaming | 2025-11-05 | 2025-11-05T18:00:00-08:00 | Not PS5 console firmware; adult Premium account and eligible countries/games | N22Checked 2026-09-11 |
PS5 historical update archive
61 version records; 61 with Sony notes or feature announcements; 0 with notes missing (including timing-only evidence). This combines the checked current notes, dated Sony announcements and a preservation operator’s catalog. It is broader than Sony’s current rolling list, but not a certified list of every public release.
61 records. All versions remain readable without JavaScript.
No matching record. Reset the filters or try the short version number. A missing match does not prove that a release never existed.
| Version | What is documented | Date and timing | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 26.05-13.60.00 | Messages/usability | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 26.05-13.60.00 to 2026-07-23. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesN01 · H724 |
| 26.04-13.42.00 | Performance/stability | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 26.04-13.42.00 to 2026-07-01. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesN01 · H725 |
| 26.04-13.40.00 | Performance/stability | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 26.04-13.40.00 to 2026-06-04. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H726 |
| 26.03-13.20.00 | Emoji message reactions | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 26.03-13.20.00 to 2026-04-24. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H727 |
| 26.02-13.00.00 | PSSR; Unicode 17; Welcome hub | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 26.02-13.00.00 to 2026-03-17. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H728 |
| 26.01-12.70.00 | Performance/stability | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 26.01-12.70.00 to 2026-02-12. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesN01 · H729 |
| 26.01-12.60.00 | Friends activities; read receipts | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 26.01-12.60.00 to 2026-01-28. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H730 |
| 25.08-12.40.00 | Performance/stability | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 25.08-12.40.00 to 2025-12-03. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H731 |
| 25.07-12.20.00 | Serial information; Edge stability | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 25.07-12.20.00 to 2025-10-22. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H732 |
| 25.06-12.02.00 | Security fixes | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 25.06-12.02.00 to 2025-10-01. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesN01 · H733 |
| 25.06-12.00.00 | Power Saver; four-device pairing | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 25.06-12.00.00 to 2025-09-17. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H734 |
| 25.05-11.60.00 | Performance/stability | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 25.05-11.60.00 to 2025-07-15. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H735 |
| 25.04-11.40.00 | Messages/usability | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 25.04-11.40.00 to 2025-06-04. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H736 |
| 25.03-11.20.00 | Audio Focus; classic themes | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 25.03-11.20.00 to 2025-04-24. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H737 |
| 25.02-11.00.00 | Activities; Unicode 16; family defaults | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 25.02-11.00.00 to 2025-03-25. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H738 |
| 25.01-10.60.00 | Performance/stability | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 25.01-10.60.00 to 2025-01-23. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H739 |
| 24.08-10.40.00 | Large-data console transfer | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 24.08-10.40.00 to 2024-12-03. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H740 |
| 24.07-10.20.00 | Activity progress status | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 24.07-10.20.00 to 2024-10-23. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H741 |
| 24.06-10.01.00 | Performance/stability | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 24.06-10.01.00 to 2024-09-21. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H742 |
| 24.06-10.00.00 | Welcome hub; 3D audio; charging | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedVersion note has no exact release day; dates from separate feature announcements are stored separately. The exact-version chronology dates 24.06-10.00.00 to 2024-09-12. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H743 |
| 24.05-09.60.00 | Session links; Game Help voice shortcut. | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. The exact-version chronology dates 24.05-09.60.00 to 2024-07-23. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · F01 · H744 |
| 24.04-09.40.00 | Direct Discord voice chat | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedNo exact release date supplied by version notes; selected earlier meaningful changes, not exhaustive archive. The exact-version chronology dates 24.04-09.40.00 to 2024-06-13. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H745 |
| 24.03-09.20.00 | Community Game Help | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedNo exact release date supplied by version notes; selected earlier meaningful changes, not exhaustive archive. The exact-version chronology dates 24.03-09.20.00 to 2024-04-24. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H746 |
| 24.02-09.00.00 | Controller audio; power-light brightness; Share Screen interactions. | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. The exact-version chronology dates 24.02-09.00.00 to 2024-03-15. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · F01 · H747 |
| 24.01-08.60.00 | Recent parties; PULSE audio settings. | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. The exact-version chronology dates 24.01-08.60.00 to 2024-01-24. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · F01 · H748 |
| 23.02-08.40.00 | Security and maintenance. | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. The exact-version chronology dates 23.02-08.40.00 to 2023-12-06. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · F01 · H749 |
| 23.02-08.20.02Catalog variants: sys_ex | Performance maintenance. | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. The exact-version chronology dates 23.02-08.20.02 to 2023-11-08. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · F01 · H750 |
| 23.02-08.20.00 | Music navigation; VR2 broadcast privacy. | Release: Release chronology; region not specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. The exact-version chronology dates 23.02-08.20.00 to 2023-10-26. This is distinct from the package build date and does not add to the independently sourced Sony change summary. | Sony notesH03 · F01 · H751 |
| 23.02-08.00.00 | Atmos; 8TB M.2; assist controller | Release: Global PlayStation rolloutNo exact release date supplied by version notes; selected earlier meaningful changes, not exhaustive archive. PlayStation explicitly says the major update rolled out globally on September 13, 2023; the existing dataset binds that release to 23.02-08.00.00. | Sony notesH03 · N01 · H720 |
| 23.01-07.61.00 | Performance maintenance. | Release: Japanese rollout reportExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. Mynavi reports that SIE began offering exact version 23.01-07.61.00 on August 10, 2023. | Sony notesH03 · F01 · H719 |
| 23.01-07.60.00 | Performance maintenance. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language rollout reportExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. Push Square identifies exact version 23.01-07.60.00 as pushed out on July 20, 2023. | Sony notesH03 · F01 · H718 |
| 23.01-07.40.00 | Stability and interface maintenance. | Release: Japanese support announcementExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. Ask PlayStation Japan explicitly said rollout of exact version 23.01-07.40.00 began that day, June 7, 2023. | Sony notesH03 · F01 · H717 |
| 23.01-07.20.00 | Maintenance; DualSense Edge stability. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language rollout reportExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. The dated report identifies 23.01-07.20.00 as the PS5 system-software update released April 19, 2023. | Sony notesH03 · F01 · H716 |
| 23.01-07.01.01Catalog variants: sys_ex | Game Library display correction. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language rollout reportExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. The March 29, 2023 report identifies exact version 23.01-07.01.01 as the newly released PS5 update. | Sony notesH03 · F01 · H715 |
| 23.01-07.01.00 | Discord disconnection fix. | Release: Contemporaneous Brazilian rollout reportExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. PSX Brasil reported Sony made exact version 23.01-07.01.00 available on March 14, 2023. | Sony notesH03 · F01 · H714 |
| 07.00.00 | Added Discord voice chat, VRR support for 1440p output, new social and accessibility controls, wireless device-data transfer between PS5 consoles, and voice-command game-capture support in the US and UK. | Release: Global PlayStation rolloutArticle: PlayStation explicitly says the update rolled out globally on March 8, 2023; contemporaneous reporting preserves the exact 23.01-07.00.00 version heading. | Sony rollout — exact version reproducedH03 · H691 |
| 06.50.00 | Added support for the DualSense Edge wireless controller and improved system performance. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language rolloutArticle: The contemporaneous report identifies version 22.02-06.50.00 as released on January 12, 2023 and reproduces Sony’s two-item note. | Sony support notes — reproducedH03 · H692 |
| 06.02.00 | Improved system performance. Sony did not identify individual changes in this note. | Release: German support reproductionArticle: The dated reproduction says version 22.02-06.02.00 became available on October 12, 2022 and attributes the reproduced change note to PlayStation support. | Sony support note — reproducedH03 · H693 |
| 06.00.01Catalog variants: sys_ex | Improved system-software operating stability. Sony did not identify individual changes in this notice. | Release: JapanThe dated reproduction quotes Ask PlayStation Japan saying distribution of 22.02-06.00.01 began on October 5, 2022. | Sony Japan support notice — reproducedH03 · H704 |
| 06.00.00 | Added 1440p HDMI output, Game Library gamelists, 3D-versus-stereo audio comparison, easier access to in-progress Activities, Share Screen requests, joinable-game notifications, new-friend profile access, and voice messages and stickers in Game Base. | Release: Global PlayStation rolloutArticle: PlayStation says the update rolled out globally on September 7, 2022; the contemporary version index binds those features to 22.02-06.00.00. | Sony global rollout — exact version independently indexedH03 · H694 |
| 05.50.00 | Added an ALLM control for compatible TVs: Automatic enables low-latency mode during games, while Off disables ALLM except during VRR output. Also improved system performance. | Release: Contemporaneous Portuguese-language rollout reportThe dated report says Sony made version 22.01-05.50.00 available on July 7, 2022 and reproduces the version-specific support notes. | Sony support notes — reproducedH03 · H695 |
| 05.10.00 | Improved system performance. Sony did not identify individual changes in this note. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language rollout reportThe dated report identifies 22.01-05.10.00 as released on May 12, 2022 and reproduces Sony’s one-line note. | Sony support note — reproducedH03 · H696 |
| 05.02.00 | Improved system-software operating stability. Sony did not identify individual changes in this notice. | Release: JapanGAME Watch reproduces Ask PlayStation Japan’s same-day rollout notice for 22.01-05.02.00 and reports April 13, 2022 distribution. | Sony Japan support notice — reproducedH03 · H697 |
| 05.00.00 | Added Open and Closed Parties, Game Base and Trophy-card interface improvements, mono audio for headphones, and US/UK Voice Command preview support for finding content and controlling playback. | Release: Global PlayStation rolloutArticle: PlayStation says its PS5 update rolled out globally on March 23, 2022; the version index binds that release to 22.01-05.00.00. | Sony global rollout — exact version independently indexedH03 · H698 |
| 04.51.00 | Improved system performance. Sony did not identify individual changes in this note. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language rollout reportThe dated report says Sony released 21.02-04.51.00 on March 8, 2022 and reproduces the one-line patch note. | Sony support note — reproducedH03 · H699 |
| 04.50.00 | Improved system performance. Sony did not identify individual changes in this note. | Release: Contemporaneous Spanish-language availability reportThe December 1, 2021 report identifies version 21.02-04.50.00 and says it was already available for all PS5 models. | Sony support note — reproducedH03 · H700 |
| 04.03.00 | Improved system performance. Sony did not identify individual changes in this note. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language rollout reportThe dated report identifies 21.02-04.03.00 as the October 20, 2021 PS5 firmware release and reproduces the console note. | Sony support note — reproducedH03 · H701 |
| 04.02.00 | Improved system-software operating stability. Sony did not identify individual changes in this notice. | Release: JapanGAME Watch reports that Sony began distributing 21.02-04.02.00 on October 7, 2021 and identifies the stability purpose. | Sony Japan support notice — reproducedH03 · H702 |
| 04.00.00 | Added M.2 SSD storage expansion, Control Center customization, enhanced Game Base, a Trophy Tracker, 3D audio for built-in TV speakers, Pulse 3D headset equalizer controls, challenge personal-best clips, and supporting Remote Play and PS App improvements. | Release: Global PlayStation rolloutArticle: PlayStation announced its second major PS5 system-software update for global launch on September 15, 2021; the version index binds that release to 21.02-04.00.00. | Sony global rollout — exact version independently indexedH03 · H703 |
| 03.21.00 | Improved system performance. Sony did not identify individual changes in this note. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language rollout reportThe July 9 report says Sony released version 21.01-03.21.00 the previous day, establishing July 8, 2021. | Sony support note — reproducedH03 · H705 |
| 03.20.00 | Improved system performance and DualSense device-software stability; fixed restricted Screen Reader functionality and PS4-hidden games appearing on PS5; made copying games from USB extended storage to console storage more stable. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language rollout reportGameSpot identifies the update as available on June 9, 2021 and reproduces the Sony website notes for 21.01-03.20.00. | Sony support notes — reproducedH03 · H706 |
| 03.10.00 | Improved system performance. Sony did not identify individual changes in this note. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language rollout reportThe dated report says 21.01-03.10.00 was pushed to users on April 27, 2021 and reproduces the complete one-line note. | Sony support note — reproducedH03 · H707 |
| 03.00.00 | Added storage of PS5 games on compatible USB extended drives, cross-generation Share Play, request-to-join sessions, Game Base improvements, per-player voice volume controls, game-update pre-downloads, Game Library customization and search, Screen Zoom, and expanded Trophy settings and statistics. | Release: Global PlayStation rolloutArticle: PlayStation announced its first major PS5 update for global rollout on April 14, 2021; a contemporary firmware index binds the release to 21.01-03.00.00. | Sony global rollout — exact version independently indexedH03 · H708 |
| 02.50.00 | Improved system performance; stopped PS4 disc versions from unexpectedly reinstalling after a PS5-version upgrade; added selection and editing of video clips in Media Gallery with Share Factory Studio. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language support reproductionThe reproduced PlayStation support entry explicitly dates release of 20.02-02.50.00 to February 3, 2021. | Sony support entry — reproducedH03 · H709 |
| 02.30.00 | Improved system performance; prevented downloads from being cancelled during PS4 data transfers; fixed text-input errors in some PS4 games; improved connection stability with some Wi-Fi routers. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language support reproductionThe reproduced PlayStation support entry explicitly dates release of 20.02-02.30.00 to December 9, 2020. | Sony support entry — reproducedH03 · H710 |
| 02.26.00 | Improved system performance; fixed installed disc versions of games sometimes being deleted; fixed DualSense charging in rest mode through the front USB Type-A port when using the cable included with some consoles. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language rollout reportThe dated report says Sony released 20.02-02.26.00 on November 25, 2020 and reproduces the Sony notes. | Sony support notes — reproducedH03 · H711 |
| 02.25.00 | Improved system performance. Sony did not identify individual changes in the console note reproduced at release. | Release: Contemporaneous English-language rollout reportThe dated report identifies 20.02-02.25.00 as Sony’s November 17, 2020 firmware release. | Sony console note — reproducedH03 · H712 |
| 02.20.00 | Improved system performance; addressed a download failure that could leave only Queued for Download or View Details available, with Sony directing affected users to update and rebuild the database in Safe Mode. | Release: Selected PS5 launch regionsThe reproduced PlayStation support entry dates the launch-day 20.02-02.20.00 update to November 12, 2020. | Sony support entry — reproducedH03 · H713 |
| 02.00.00 | Launch-hardware, game-disc and development-system build; no version-specific feature or fix is documented. | Public release date: not applicableLaunch-unit, retail-disc and development-system build; no separate public OTA release is evidenced.Available by: UK launch-unit and retail-disc distribution; not an exact release date. H723Present on UK launch-day physical hardware by 2020-11-19. A later package chronology date is not treated as its first public release. Launch-unit, retail-disc and development-system build; no separate public OTA release is evidenced. | Technical chronologyH03 · H723 · H838 |
| 01.14.00 | Game-disc CEX build distributed with named launch games and also present in development-system packages; no version-specific feature or fix is documented. | Release: Launch-game retail-disc distributionAvailable by: Launch-game retail-disc distribution; not an exact release date. H722Observed on named launch-game discs by 2020-11-11. This remains a distribution bound, not a public firmware release date. | Technical chronologyH03 · H722 · H837 |
| 01.12.00 | Game-disc-only CEX build distributed with Godfall; no version-specific feature or fix is documented. | Release: Godfall retail-disc distributionAvailable by: Godfall retail-disc distribution; not an exact release date. H721Observed on Godfall retail discs by 2020-11-11. This remains a distribution bound, not a public firmware release date. | Technical chronologyH03 · H721 · H836 |
Download this table (CSV) · JSON with source records
How to interpret this archive
Each version has a bookmarkable link. A catalog entry establishes what the preservation operator lists, not that Sony released it over the public network. Factory, disc-only and model-limited distribution may require more evidence. Separate recovery, beta, developer, hybrid and delta-patch catalogs were not imported. Package variants within the selected tables remain labeled.
Article dates and available-by bounds are not silently converted into firmware release dates. Available-by means the version was already available on that date in the named source region; it does not establish its first release day. Beta previews, withdrawn releases and delayed rollouts keep their qualifications. Old services may no longer work. We do not host, download, authenticate or recommend archived firmware packages, and this is not a downgrade guide.
PS5 records use the full Sony version where retained, and the catalog’s short version otherwise. Matching short and full labels are merged; sys_ex package variants do not become separate firmware releases.
What this record does—and does not—prove
Source check: . 61 version records; 61 with Sony notes or feature announcements; 0 with notes missing (including timing-only evidence). This is a manually reviewed reference, not a live device check or a download mirror. Historical fixes are not a list of unresolved problems in the latest software.
We have not tested these releases on hardware. A short maintenance note does not identify a particular crash, frame-rate gain or security vulnerability. No reported issue here should be read as “bug-free.” If your console reports a newer version, use Sony’s current instructions and treat this snapshot as due for review.
See our editorial change log · Follow reference revisions with RSS · Choose another system