Search the historical PlayStation Portal archive →
Open Sony’s official update instructions →
Update the Portal, not just its host console
Sony’s retained Portal list starts at 7.0.2. The notes describe maintenance rather than a named new feature. Portal device software has its own version sequence; seeing a current PS5 version does not establish that the Portal itself is updated. F07
Check and install on the device
Swipe left from the screen’s top-right corner to open the quick menu. Under Settings → System → System Software, Device Information shows the installed version and Update System Software checks for an update. Keep sufficient battery charge and do not interrupt installation. If updating fails, Sony asks you to check the version and contact PlayStation Support. F08
What changed for picture quality
The March 2026 announcement describes a higher-bitrate 1080p High Quality mode, not a higher-resolution display. Select it under Quick Menu → Max Resolution during a Remote Play or cloud session, then restart that session to apply the change. Sony states rollout began March 17 PDT / March 18 CET and JST; that timezone distinction belongs in the record. F23
The same announcement covers clearer cloud bundle selection, game invites and trophy notifications. A software feature does not remove subscription, title, region or network requirements. Our Portal access guide addresses the two play routes separately. F23
Public Wi-Fi: read the later correction
The June 2024 announcement introduced sign-in support for selected public networks using another device for authentication. Its July 24 update broadened that to some 5GHz public networks. The older footnote still excludes 5GHz; the later dated correction is the relevant qualification, not a promise that every hotel or airport network will work. Complete initial Portal setup before relying on a public network. F24
Multiple updates are not automatically a fault
Sony’s 6.0.1 note says some older installations need sequential updates. We retain that explanation rather than interpreting every second download as a loop. The source also duplicates its 7.0.0 section; this archive records that version once. F07
Separate update failure from streaming trouble
A failed software installation, a network sign-in page and an inaccessible cloud game are different states. Record which one you reached before troubleshooting. Do not erase the device just to test an account-entitlement theory. We have not measured latency or validated individual cloud accounts; the version table is documentary evidence, not a streaming-quality benchmark.
Current Sony page: retained notes
This smaller table preserves the 14 entries still shown on Sony’s current page; the expanded historical archive is below. These are concise summaries; follow the source for full notes. “Not established” means the source did not give us a release day—not that the update never shipped.
| Version | Documented change | Release date | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 7.0.2 | Stability and interface maintenance. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 7.0.0 | Higher-quality 1080p; cloud bundle selection and notifications. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 6.0.1 | Stability maintenance; sequential updates may be required. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 6.0.0 | Eligible library streaming; redesigned home; passcode; network tools. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 5.1.0 | Stability and interface maintenance. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 5.0.0 | Cloud-beta captures, sorting, queues and license recovery. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 4.0.1 | Stability and interface maintenance. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 4.0.0 | Cloud beta; speaker adjustment; PS Link settings. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 3.0.1 | More public networks, including certain 5GHz networks. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 3.0.0 | Public-network login; touchpad feedback; battery percentage. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 2.0.6 | Stability maintenance. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 2.0.5 | Stability and interface maintenance. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 2.0.1 | Performance maintenance. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
| 2.0.0 | PS5 Remote Play and quick settings. | Not established | F07Checked 2026-09-11 |
How this system changed
Selected historical milestones, not every intervening patch. These dates belong to announcements; the timing column explains what each source actually establishes. Old services and offers are not current recommendations.
PlayStation Portal historical update archive
14 version records; 14 with Sony notes or feature announcements; 0 with notes missing (including timing-only evidence). This combines the checked current notes, dated Sony announcements and a preservation operator’s catalog. It is broader than Sony’s current rolling list, but not a certified list of every public release.
14 records. All versions remain readable without JavaScript.
No matching record. Reset the filters or try the short version number. A missing match does not prove that a release never existed.
| Version | What is documented | Date and timing | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 7.0.2 | Stability and interface maintenance. | Release: Release report; region not separately specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. Contemporaneous report explicitly says Sony rolled out 7.0.2 that morning. This timing annotation does not alter the independently retained Sony change summary. | Sony notesF07 · H784 |
| 7.0.0 | Higher-quality 1080p; cloud bundle selection and notifications. | Release: Release report; region not separately specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. PlayStation announced the update for March 18, and contemporaneous coverage confirms the global rollout that day. This timing annotation does not alter the independently retained Sony change summary. | Sony notesF07 · H785 |
| 6.0.1 | Stability maintenance; sequential updates may be required. | Release: Release report; region not separately specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. Contemporaneous exact-version reporting states Sony rolled out Portal 6.0.1 on the morning of November 20, 2025. This timing annotation does not alter the independently retained Sony change summary. | Sony notesF07 · H850 |
| 6.0.0 | Eligible library streaming; redesigned home; passcode; network tools. | Release: North American rollout; later calendar time in EuropeExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. PlayStation states the Portal system update would release later that day in North America; the Europe calendar boundary is kept explicit. This timing annotation does not alter the independently retained Sony change summary. | Sony notesF07 · H786 |
| 5.1.0 | Stability and interface maintenance. | Release: Release report; region not separately specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. A contemporaneous report says Sony announced exact version 5.1.0 available on June 25, 2025. This timing annotation does not alter the independently retained Sony change summary. | Sony notesF07 · H787 |
| 5.0.0 | Cloud-beta captures, sorting, queues and license recovery. | Release: Release report; region not separately specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. PlayStation explicitly says the Portal update released April 9, 2025; the support history binds its listed features to version 5.0.0. This timing annotation does not alter the independently retained Sony change summary. | Sony notesF07 · H788 |
| 4.0.1 | Stability and interface maintenance. | Release: Release report; region not separately specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. The dated report explicitly identifies 4.0.1 as available on December 12, 2024 and reproduces Sony’s notes. This timing annotation does not alter the independently retained Sony change summary. | Sony notesF07 · H789 |
| 4.0.0 | Cloud beta; speaker adjustment; PS Link settings. | Release: North America; Europe began next dayExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. PlayStation says rollout began later on November 19, 2024 in North America, with Europe beginning November 20. This timing annotation does not alter the independently retained Sony change summary. | Sony notesF07 · H790 |
| 3.0.1 | More public networks, including certain 5GHz networks. | Release: Release report; region not separately specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. PlayStation’s July 24 article update says the latest Portal system software released that day; the retained support history identifies those 5GHz public-network notes as 3.0.1. This timing annotation does not alter the independently retained Sony change summary. | Sony notesF07 · H791 |
| 3.0.0 | Public-network login; touchpad feedback; battery percentage. | Release: Release report; region not separately specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. The contemporaneous report documents that 3.0.0 actually released June 20 after the announced June 19 rollout was delayed. This timing annotation does not alter the independently retained Sony change summary. | Sony notesF07 · H792 |
| 2.0.6 | Stability maintenance. | Release: Release report; region not separately specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. The dated exact-version report identifies Portal 2.0.6 as available on April 2, 2024. This timing annotation does not alter the independently retained Sony change summary. | Sony notesF07 · H793 |
| 2.0.5 | Stability and interface maintenance. | Release: Release report; region not separately specifiedExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. Multiple same-day owner reports identify installed Portal version 2.0.5 on December 12, 2023, establishing live availability by that date. This timing annotation does not alter the independently retained Sony change summary. | Sony notesF07 · H851 |
| 2.0.1 | Performance maintenance. | Release: Contemporary English-language reportingExact release date not supplied by the retained notes. Contemporary reporting described version 2.0.1 as already received and required on 2023-12-01. | Sony notesF07 · H848 |
| 2.0.0 | PS5 Remote Play and quick settings. | Public release date: not applicableBase software present on retail launch hardware; no separate public OTA release is evidenced.Available by: Initial PlayStation Portal retail hardware; not an exact release date. H794Exact release date not supplied by the retained notes. The base software was present on Portal hardware by its November 15, 2023 launch. A hardware availability bound is not a separately confirmed public OTA release date. Base software present on retail launch hardware; no separate public OTA release is evidenced. | Sony notesF07 · H794 |
Download this table (CSV) · JSON with source records
How to interpret this archive
Each version has a bookmarkable link. A catalog entry establishes what the preservation operator lists, not that Sony released it over the public network. Factory, disc-only and model-limited distribution may require more evidence. Separate recovery, beta, developer, hybrid and delta-patch catalogs were not imported. Package variants within the selected tables remain labeled.
Article dates and available-by bounds are not silently converted into firmware release dates. Available-by means the version was already available on that date in the named source region; it does not establish its first release day. Beta previews, withdrawn releases and delayed rollouts keep their qualifications. Old services may no longer work. We do not host, download, authenticate or recommend archived firmware packages, and this is not a downgrade guide.
What this record does—and does not—prove
Source check: . 14 version records; 14 with Sony notes or feature announcements; 0 with notes missing (including timing-only evidence). This is a manually reviewed reference, not a live device check or a download mirror. Historical fixes are not a list of unresolved problems in the latest software.
We have not tested these releases on hardware. A short maintenance note does not identify a particular crash, frame-rate gain or security vulnerability. No reported issue here should be read as “bug-free.” If your console reports a newer version, use Sony’s current instructions and treat this snapshot as due for review.
See our editorial change log · Follow reference revisions with RSS · Choose another system